No enemies. Just strangers.

I was once asked how I manage to stay happy despite being hurt and betrayed by people that I loved. I wished I have thought of a more clever answer, but I could only think of one thing that time – one vow I made with myself : “Simply delete enemies out of your life and place them back on the stranger’s zone”.

With that, I don’t have to harbor grudges, I just simply kept a distance and not care about anything they have to say.  I don’t talk to strangers, I don’t listen to them. I don’t share with them my  joys nor my miseries. I just simply treated them the way they are in my life  – strangers. 

Its safer that way. In fact  I find it really helpful.  Don’t collect enemies. Toss them out to the wind. Don’t tie a rope in your feet. It will only weigh you down. Keep moving and embrace only those people you care about. Life should be spent just like the way you listen to your favorite music –  focus on that groovy rhythm and fade those noises out in oblivion.

 

Anawangin

Published by

Jona Alday

A corporate slave who finds joy in motivating and leading people but ultimately yearns for weekends and plotted vacation leaves. An Engineering graduate who HATES Math. An acrophobic who conquers mountains. A lover of sleepy towns, dawn, poetry, pancit canton and cats.

2 thoughts on “No enemies. Just strangers.”

Leave a Reply

