Endless rain, warm blanket, hot espresso and all other sentimental things of July

image

I cant remember any stormless July in my 25 years of waiting for it. More often than not, my July afternoons are filled with daydreaming as I listen to the wrath of typhoon against my window. It is my birth month, and I used to pray really hard for a sunny birthday. But as I get older, I become more sentimental resilient to whatever the heavens will give me. In this country that I so love, its amazing how many times we are hit by typhoons during June to August. And typhoon here means a hell lot of rain, flood and wrecked umbrella. So far, I celebrated 7 consecutive birthdays with wet shoes and gloomy skies. And yes, I embraced each birthday with immeasurable joy.

July reminds me of wet pavement, of cardigans and colorful skirts dancing against the wind. It reminds me of grass soaked with heaven’s blessing- as if thirsty, as if being reborn. I thought of the green leaves of numerous mango trees  surrounding our old house – the greenest they can get all year, the happiest they seem to be. The river, the mountain and the nearby birds appears to be more alive under the July rain.

It reminds me of how beautifully the wind carries her hair away from her face.

I am hopeful than ever for all the beautiful things this month will bring to me. It gave me one last year – a beautiful someone. And I believe it just gets better and better every year.

Cheers to July and all its rain and blessings and surprises!

Published by

Jona Alday

A corporate slave who finds joy in motivating and leading people but ultimately yearns for weekends and plotted vacation leaves. An Engineering graduate who HATES Math. An acrophobic who conquers mountains. A lover of sleepy towns, dawn, poetry, pancit canton and cats.

2 thoughts on “Endless rain, warm blanket, hot espresso and all other sentimental things of July”

Leave a Reply

