A question for adults.

image

Would your 8 years old self be proud of you right now?

I have very few memories of me when I was a child so Im not really sure what I wanted back when I was just 8 years old. I wished I knew then how to make list or write a diary. But all I could remember when I was that age was that I love picking fruits from our backyard, I enjoy watering our plants during the afternoon when the sun is beginning to set and I love pretending as If Im one of the Ninja Turtles (I even injured my brother – cut his eyebrow open as I wield my bo like my favorite Donatello. No, I dont have a real long staff weapon but I found a metal bar that we used to open the windows and trash it to his face and “accidentally” cut his eyebrows which left a scar up until today. My brother is supposed to be Leonardo with a pair of plastic comb as his Katana. He was clearly disadvantaged defenseless. My mother was so angry she prohibited me from touching my metal bar and Im pretty sure she got me exorcised.)

So with those few (but happy) childhood memories, I dont remember what I really want back then. But my mother must have known as she spent her hard earned money to enroll me to some advanced drawing class, computer lessons (back when computers are only for the super rich) and music class (I ended playing the Bandurria which is the equivalent of today’s DJ Turn Tables. Joke. Its a smaller guitar for the nerds.) OFCOURSE I NEVER REALLY EXCEL ON ANY OF THEM. I become a squandering Engineer (insert sarcasm here.)

All in all, I was a happy 8 years old even though life has been so rough for my family as we grow up. And my 8 years old self would have want the same for me today – HAPPY. Despite the struggles and the lack of too many things. My 8 years old self would be so proud of me as I never let family problems, shortage, failures nor disappointments define me, break me. Instead, I used them as rung to my ladder which Im still climbing up until today. I was unbreakable. I worked for my family and study at the same time. I laughed at my mistakes then try again. I was a fighter. An awkward but sanguine Ninja Turtle.

When I turn 40, I wanna ask myself again if my 26 years old self is proud of what I have become. Hopefully, its a resounding yes with the clink of wine glasses.

How about you? Will you ask yourself the same question?  Are you prepared for the answers?

Thanks @infinitesatori for inspiring this post. And for inspiring me in general.

Published by

Jona Alday

A corporate slave who finds joy in motivating and leading people but ultimately yearns for weekends and plotted vacation leaves. An Engineering graduate who HATES Math. An acrophobic who conquers mountains. A lover of sleepy towns, dawn, poetry, pancit canton and cats.

Leave a Reply

