Do what makes you happy.. Even on Instagram!

Being the awkward girl that I am, it takes a lot for me to communicate (except in writing which as my ex-boyfriend would say “Your element.”) Heck, its not my element. It is only easier for me to write my thoughts than initiate a gut-wrenching conversation with people (except to those I’m really close to) . So for all my other means of communication – I let my social networking sites intervene. I had Friendster (back in the days when comments and “testimonial” are equally encompassing as my real grades in class). And now its Facebook (which honestly became a way of life).  I also have Twitter, Flickr, Pinterest and Google+ which I seldom use. Then came Instagram.

I just recently started Instagram and it took me a good 3 months to get used to it. Why? Because I’m not really sure what I’m supposed to do with it. But after a while, I begin to love the freedom it gives us to express who we are and what’s in our minds through pictures. Like an updated, digital scrapbook. Recently, I’m beginning to hear more people talk about how they are so fed up with Instagramers uploading  selfies, photos of what they eat or their pets or babies. I honestly don’t understand why they spend their time telling other people what they should or shouldn’t post in their own profile. I don’t get it, really. As what Jenny Doh put it “Post what YOU want on your IG feed. And let others post what they want on their IG feeds” Simple. I think this should be the “Golden Rule” in social networking in general.

Here’s something for us, fault finders :

 If you spend too much time trying to find out what is good or bad about someone else, you’ll forget your own soul and end up exhausted and defeated by the energy you have wasted in judging others – Paulo Coelho

Pursue your IG happiness from Jenny Doh (http://blog.crescendoh.com)

Let’s all pursue our IG happiness 🙂

Published by

Jona Alday

A corporate slave who finds joy in motivating and leading people but ultimately yearns for weekends and plotted vacation leaves. An Engineering graduate who HATES Math. An acrophobic who conquers mountains. A lover of sleepy towns, dawn, poetry, pancit canton and cats.

2 thoughts on “Do what makes you happy.. Even on Instagram!”

  1. another similarity: i’m also awkward an girl who suffers in conversations. once i’m done talking, u don’t know who is more relieved, me or the person i am talking to. haha.i agree to this post. i’m not active in fb but kinda like the concept behind IG. these are bits and pieces of your life and if someone is to check your account, it’ll somehow show a quick glimpse of who u are.

    the concept of a blog is different. i get to know your thoughts because I choose to, that’s why i visit this site. i am overwhelmed with how brave and comfortable people are these days in sharing their lives to others who for all we know don’t care about them anyway.

    it’s our acct, we share what we like to share. we make or break ourselves with what we post anyway.

    1. Cheers to all our “awkwardness”. HAHA. Yes. Blogging is different, its like giving out something into the world without expecting anyone in particular to take it. And if anybody will, it means a hell lot to those who blog. Thank you for your checking my blog and for sharing your thoughts.

Leave a Reply

