All Soul’s Day Weekend

“The Greek word for “return” is nostos. Algos means “suffering.” So nostalgia is the suffering caused by an unappeased yearning to return.”
― Milan Kundera

As part of the Philippines’ Tradition, we always spend our November 1st or November 2nd by going to the cemetery to visit our loved ones who passed away.  This year, it falls on a weekend. So I decided to come back home to our province in Batangas to pay a visit (and also to try and clear my head.)

Pictures not in the best of quality as I only use my phone to capture them. Here are some pictures my sister and I took to try and capture the beauty of mundane things around us. Yes, those are sugarcane, withered flowers left on tomb, our beautiful native dogs, golden rays of sunlight in the morning (me basking in them) and those mango trees I’ve been talking alot in here.  I’m not able to go to the river as the path is really muddy and slippery because it has been raining hard while we were there.

Its now Monday here and I’m back in my bed in this ruthless city.  However, I think I have enough beautiful thoughts and memories from my weekend – enough to give me peace for a while.

There is nothing like home.

 

All Souls Day 2013

Published by

Jona Alday

A corporate slave who finds joy in motivating and leading people but ultimately yearns for weekends and plotted vacation leaves. An Engineering graduate who HATES Math. An acrophobic who conquers mountains. A lover of sleepy towns, dawn, poetry, pancit canton and cats.

Leave a Reply

